Samsung Refrigerator Reviews: Door Handle Problems!!! (model RGS257)

In all of the Samsung refrigerator reviews I've read no one really explained how bad the door handle problems are!!

We bought our Samsung refrigerator model RGS257 from Lowes.

Once the installers left in quite a hurry, I opened the doors and both handles fell off!!

After calling Samsung, I learned that this was a known defect, and was promised new handles in "5-10 working days". Three weeks later, I called and was informed that I would have to talk to the "executive" customer support, and that they would call back within 24 hours. Didn't happen.

I called again and was informed that this would have to go to the parts department. I was also told that once the part was shipped, I would get it in "7 to 14 days".

BTW: The "executive" customer support appears to be the same as the (essentially useless) regular support. Apparently there is also no option to speak to a supervisor because there are no supervisors.

I have contacted Lowes and they readily agreed to switch out the unit in a day or two.

This is certainly the last time I'll buy from Samsung, but I'm quite happy with the way Lowes has stepped up.

Click here for more Samsung Refrigerator Reviews

Comments for Samsung Refrigerator Reviews: Door Handle Problems!!! (model RGS257)

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 02, 2016
Will never buy Samsung home appliances again. NEW
by: Kateryna

Will never buy Samsung appliance again! Fridge handle is broken now just after two years of use. Another expensive repair on the fridge needed just after the warranty of 12 months expired. The part cost 170$ plus the labor.
Dishwasher breaks every month gives E9 mistake. Cleaning that part constantly cost money. Samsung microwave has also broken handle. Dreaming to get rid of all 5 Samsung appliances in the house.

Jun 20, 2016
rust NEW
by: Anonymous

after one yr give or take our side by side model rs264a had started to rust under water dispenser and bottom of door ...... really

May 24, 2016
Samsung RF26xaers handle issue NEW
by: Murty

I bought Samsung refrigerator from lowes. The freezer drawer easy handle came out and contacted lowes and Samsung no help. Not sure how to fix this issue

Apr 01, 2016
samsung handles NEW
by: Keith Fowee

I am dealing with samsung handle issues too

Mar 24, 2016
Broker Refrigerator Handle NEW
by: Brown

I bought a Samsung Refrigerator for $3000 and after three months the handle fell off. I tried calling the customer service and spent almost an hour taking pictures, sending emails and no one ever respond. I called and was given a royal run around, someone finally tells me its physical damage even though I have a year parts and labor. I offered to pay for a technician, now the they are saying the entire door has to be replaced. Samsung product is very poor and will never buy again.

Mar 22, 2016
RFG299ABRS/XAA Broken Freezer Handle NEW
by: Anonymous

UNBELIEVABLE a freezer handle from a $3000 refrigerator brakes after 4 years!! My mother had a 30 year old refrig. that was only serviced once in its lifetime. Boy did we get suckered by the looks. Buyer beware of Samsung.

Feb 04, 2016
Samsung door handle
by: Brian Giszewski

Have had this fridge that I spent $3000 has been nothing but problems first handle fell off after only 7 months the display for ice and water went out after 8 months. I have never had a problem with my old Amana fridge that was 10 years old and this fridge is the biggest mistake I have ever made. DO NOT BUY

Nov 23, 2015
Model #RF 217 ACWP
by: Anonymous

model is 2 years old. paint is peeling from the handle. Samsung Services seems delighted to tell me there is absolutely nothing that can be done about it. I am now searching for a stove. needless to say i absolutely eliminated any samsung models. Not so much for their cheap products but for their practice to continue to sell defective products and their horrible customer service. A company that cared about their customers would have manufactured extra handles to provide to customers. instead they delight in telling us nothing you can do. this is a one person household so it is not like refrigerator gets lots of use. piece of junk.

Nov 04, 2015
7 months old... Handle breaks no warranty
by: Nothappy😤😤😤😤

We spent over $3000 for this Samsung refrigerator to be told the warranty will it cover a broken freezer handle. The unit is only 7 months old! It's simply an engineering problem! How do we file a class action??? Don't Buy Samsung!!!!!!!!!

Feb 18, 2015
no business for Samsung
by: tom carr

4 years. Old Samsung frech door 1st ice maker, 2nd froze up 3rd ice maker 4th freezer handle broke off .they say not defective but go online and to box store they will say yes never said before paid money now they agree. Yet Samsung says no when I paid a rear man 2nd time on ice maker I had warranty company do it they said it was covered by warranty with Samsung so they did get stuck with parts....lies now got piece for fixing door handle with no instructions. .I just bought 4k 65 inches tall did I'd I buy Samsung. No no I did not

Dec 29, 2014
Handles peeling paint
by: Anonymous

Still having problems with my handles peeling paint. This time on the replacement handles. Has anyone found a solution for this?

Jun 01, 2014
Samsung Freeze Hadle Broke 2x's
by: Anonymous

I have a Samsung Model # RFG298AARS The handle bracket broke after I had it for approx. 1.5 yrs Now is is broke again about 1 year later. I have not been able to find an appliance repair company that will even work on them.. REST ASSURED I WILL NEVER HAVE ANOTHER SAMSUNG. This Refrigerator was not cheap.

Jul 17, 2013
Samsung French door handles
by: Anonymous

The "skin" on the handles of my 1 1/2 year old French door refrigerator has begun to peel off. When I called for assistance I was told this is a "cosmetic" problem and Samsung is not liable. I buy one refrigerator a year to put in apartments I renovate. I will not buy another Samsung product for any of my projects, and recommend every potential buyer beware!

Sep 10, 2012
Samsung Products
by: Anonymous

We will not purchase another Samsung product of any kind. We have problems with our door handles as well as with as with a TV we purchased. Customer service is non existent. They need to be held accountable for their products.

Oct 26, 2011
Jenn Air Refridgerator door handle falling off
by: Anonymous

I am in the midst of trying to solve a problem which I have never seen before - the door handle to my Jenn Air refridgerator is falling off...NEVER had heard of this happening.

The technician (outsourced) told me I needed a new door handle. Now he tells me I might need a whole new door!

This is nuts as the problem is a manufacturer problem not mine. Has anybody had similar issues?

Jul 07, 2011
Samsung has Poor Design..Useless Customer service
by: Anonymous

I am dealing with handles that fell off my Samsung refrigerator.

The customer service provided by Samsung is useless. I bought the thing at Lowes but Sears is helping me.

Click here for more on Samsung Refrigerators

May 20, 2011
More Door Handle Problems
by: M. Aizawa

I too am dealing with Samsung - the same model refrigerator/freezer where both of the handles fall off about every other time we try to open one of the doors.

There is a supervisor on the floor (one of several I believe) - Melissa - in Greenville, South Carolina. I also spoke to her. Her only response is that the handles on our refrigerator are defective, she is sorry and will send new ones to us to replace them ourselves.

My suspicion is that the plastic parts screwed into the doors that the handles are supposed to slide onto (downwards) and lock into place are also defective.

Actually, we don't want to take the responsibility to replace these ourselves since we next could be accused of stripping a screw where the plastic pieces are screwed into the stainless steel door.

The unit comes with a one year parts and labor warranty but Samsung support says that the warranty doesn't cover labor for this item.

Another thing, if you ever need to reset the big refrigerator/freezer because of any malfunction with the front door panel, you either have to somehow move the extremely bulky, heavy unit forward (I'm physically strong, but am unable to do this at all) and then unplug the unit.

If you can't do that (even harder if the handles fall off, too) then their product support tells you to turn off the circuit breaker for 10 seconds...and then have to reset the stove clocks, the microwave clock, etc. This company is so cheap, they can't even add an inexpensive, easy to access reset button.

Bad design. Bad support. Bad attitude towards American consumers. I will never purchase a Samsung product again.

Click here for more on Samsung Refrigerators

Click here for more Refrigerator Reviews

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Samsung Refrigerator Reviews.