LG Bottom Freezer Refrigerator Reviews (Model LFC25760ST)

by Kevin G.
(Langhorne, PA)

We bought our LG bottom freezer refrigerator from Home Depot in October 2006 and we bought the extended warranty that is in effect until March 2012.

This past week the control unit with the light bulbs and digital read out overheated, melted down and almost caused a fire.

We notified the warranty company. They sent a service man out and he informed us that the damage was extensive and the fridge should be replaced.

We spoke with the warranty company, (GE), and they informed us that there is a known problem with this fridge and that it has been recalled. We never received notification of a recall.

They also claim that since it has been recalled, it's not their issue it's LG's. I am still searching to see if it has been recalled.

LG was absolutely no help at all so far. They were demanding and accused us of putting the wrong light bulbs in the fridge. (The bulbs are still the factory bulbs). They have been extremely rude and to date, will not accept responsibility for this issue.

I have not been able to find a record of the recall so far and LG will not comment on it.

I have been to Home Depot for support and so far they have not been able to assist.

We will continue the fight, but it has been very frustrating. What happened to customer service?

I will never buy any other LG appliance again and it's unlikely I will every buy an appliance from Home Depot again!

Click her for more LG Refrigerator Reviews

Comments for LG Bottom Freezer Refrigerator Reviews (Model LFC25760ST)

Click here to add your own comments

May 16, 2016
Fire Hazard NEW
by: Susan

Same happen to me. Have had the top display unit dangling for years and am afraid to put bulbs in again, as we almost had a fire also. Thank God i was home, when it happened.

Nov 12, 2013
Fire Hazard
by: Easton Family

We purchased this product from a big box store around 2007. The ice maker failed after 4 years and flooded our kitchen. I was disappointed in LG's response, and elected to not replace the icemaker due to out of pocket cost and fear of future failure. I figured I'd keep the refrigerator anyway, since it was relatively expensive.

This past weekend, I went into the kitchen in the morning and smelled burning plastic. I opened the fridge only to find that the temperature control and lights had melted to the point of dropping from the ceiling of the fridge. it was hot inside the fridge to the point where the butter had melted and dripped out of the compartment and down the door. There were visible scorch/melting marks on the light compartment. I think if I had not been home this weekend, it would likely have caught fire.

I think this fridge is a fire hazard, and caution anyone with this unit.

Being a consumer who doesn't want to waste money, I wanted to rig the machine so that it's not a total waste. I screwed the control panel back into the ceiling, and replaced the bulbs with low wattage (and low temperature) LED lights. It seems to be okay for now.

I will be replacing this fridge in the near future, and will not buy another LG product.

Mar 25, 2013
LG Frig LFC25760ST
by: Sandy

We also bought an LG bottom freezer refrigerator from Home Depot in October 2006 with extended warranty.

A few months ago the control board with the light bulbs and digital read out overheated, melted down and almost caused a fire. Luckily we were home at the time to unplug the unit and prevented a house fire!

We notified LG Service and was advised a technician would be contacted and sent out free of charge. This did not happen. After several more phone calls to LG and speaking with a Supervisor I was advised there would be a service call charge of $89.95, which I did not agree to. My complaint went no where. I was given the corperate address to write a complaint letter, which I will do so along with photo's of the defective part.

After doing some research on this product I understand that there is a known problem with this fridge and that it may have been recalled. We never received notification of a recall.

LG was absolutely no help at all! They accused us of putting the wrong light bulbs in the fridge. (The bulbs are still the factory bulbs). They have been rude and will not accept responsibility for this issue.

I have not been able to find a record of the recall so far and LG will not comment on it.

Home Depot will not assist with this issue as well.

We will continue to try and resolve this, but it has been very frustrating. What has happened to customer service and a company that stands behind it's products.

I purchased a LG frig, stove, microwave,dishwasher along with a washer and dryer. We have not been satisfied with any LG products.

We will never buy any other LG appliance again or an appliance from Home Depot!

Dec 29, 2011
Light Bulb Issue
by: ARDW

Same thing happened to me. Although they are sending out a repair person free of charge.

I am outraged that LG has known of this defect and rather than the company absorbing the cost of a recall, they elected to roll the dice and have the customer have to throw away food due to the light bulb heating up, thus the food getting to hot.

Dec 05, 2011
LG Problem
by: Anonymous

Same thing happened to mine today. I called LG & they said it would be fixed for no charge.

Wish me luck.

Click here for more on LG Refrigerators

Click here for more Refrigerator Reviews

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to LG Refrigerator Reviews.