Kenmore Elite Refrigerator Review (model 253.74223700)

We felt it was time to do our Kenmore Elite refrigerator review (model 253.74223700)because while it was great for the first 1.5 years, it has been downhill since.

It all started about 1.5 months ago when we lost our food in the fridge because the freezer vents froze up. So we took everything out of it, defrosted it and took the vacuum & cleaned everything. We have now had to defrost it 5 times in the last 6 weeks.

I called Sears again last week and they just kept transferring me from one person to another. I was on the phone for a very long time, very fustrated and was in tears for I really got nowhere.

I have checked on the computer & typed in Kenmore refrigerators freezer freezes up and it was amazing how many people have the very same problem and get the same run around as I did.

Sears won't cover the repair because they say my fridge is not under warranty. With all of the people that have had the same problem, I don't understand why there isn't a Kenmore recall on this.

Click here for more on Kenmore Refrigerators

Click here for more on Sears Refrigerators

Comments for Kenmore Elite Refrigerator Review (model 253.74223700)

Click here to add your own comments

Dec 30, 2014
Elite sucks
by: Anonymous

I purchased a Sears in the refrigerator in March 2013. I bought a refrigerator with a bundle I purchased another three appliances for the kitchen to include range microwave and dishwasher. I've had nothing but problems with the icemaker Sears has been out to my house six times to fix the problem. Now they say they want to refund my RPA want to send me the hundred $40 back because they don't want to work on it's costing them too much money.The fan continue to ice up and make noise. By buy frozen sears

Dec 20, 2014
ice maker
by: Anonymous

Ice maker sucks 700 $ fix in 11 months one year later it's broke again

Jan 19, 2014
by: Anonymous

Nothing but problems: Switch blew after 1 year and compressor is gone now: Going to make ice chest out of this piece of shit

Dec 05, 2013
by: Anonymous


Dec 05, 2013
model 253
by: Anonymous

made in mexico,and very poorly.same problem as others here.freezes over at rear of freezer.had repair man work on it 3 different times.he changed a part each call.he won't call me back.guess he gave up. never buy anything from sears again.

Feb 18, 2013
by: Anonymous

For what I can tell this refrigerator has been a known problem. I have had the same problem as many people on this site. There is significant ice build up on the coils directly behind the back wall of this freezer after a little of three years. Sears wanted over $300 to fix it. It is just not worth it. The 253 has a history of problems. Stay Away!

Aug 25, 2012
Kenmore Refrigerator
by: Anonymous

We had our Kenmore Elite Refrigerator Model 253.74223700 for 3 years now.Right now it needs repaired again. It has been fixed 2 times before. The freezer has ice behind the panel & refrigerator isn't working.
Had a new fan put in it & new water filter but that didn't help. I'm just behond tears knowing that we paid good money for JUNK. I will never buy another Kenmore anything.With as many people that is haveing trouble with this. I agree with them there needs to be a recall on this and I don't know how they get away with this.

Oct 21, 2011
Kenmore Elite ?????
by: Anonymous

Don't buy Kenmore Elite. Sears will not stand behind their product.

Kenmore Elite refrigerators are really awful because their parts are discontinued for 4 year old units..... How is that even possible?!?! Do they really think that we'll only keep a fridge for less than 4 years?

Click here for more on Kenmore Refrigerators

Click here for more Refrigerator Reviews

Apr 22, 2011
Comments on this Kenmore Elite Refrigerator Model Please!
by: Anonymous

We are thinking of buying the Kenmore Elite refrigerator model #71043. It's a bottom freezer French door model 27 cu ft.

Would love to hear any comments...good or bad...about this particular fridge before we make a final decision....


Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Kenmore Refrigerator Reviews.