Buyer Beware!!: GE Profile French Door/Bottom Freezer Refrigerator Review (model PFS22SISBSS)

by The Thoroughbreds
(York, PA)

I wish I would have read a refrigerator review that told me, "Buyer Beware of GE Profile Refrigerators" before buying mine. So instead I am telling whomever is reading this review.

Here's my story so you can form your own opinion:

Immediately after purchasing our $1800 GE Profile refrigerator in 2006 we discovered what a lemon we had purchased. It looked nice on the showroom floor but we had no idea what kind of problems we were in for:


  1. The ice maker overflows and dumps ice to the back of the freezer and under the bin.

  2. When you open the freezer door, the ice is pushed out all over your kitchen floor. There’s nothing you can do to fix it.

  3. The freezer compartment is misleading for space. It doesn’t take much before you can’t close the door.

  4. The crisper drawer tracks can't barely handle any weight.

  5. The water dispenser (ours is an inside version) is a two-handed evolution which makes it a bit more cumbersome.

  6. When the clogged filter light comes on every three months, you’ll love the $35 price tag to change it.

  7. The little plastic latch on the left hand door snapped. GE wants you to buy the entire door for $400 rather than replace the latch. You can’t get one.

  8. The electronic display started to whack out. Once that goes your frig doesn’t know what to do.

  9. For us the compressor kept running, which by the way, you’ll see has a tiny life cycle. That’ll set you back another $600.

  10. The main circuit board had a recall for defects. The recall ended 6 months before our serial number, but it has the same board. That’ll set you back another $440 and that’s only if you install it yourself like I did.

I can go on and on but do I need too? Go on the net and read the refrigerator reviews. This is one piece of crap.

My new $500 Maytag (same cubic feet) with no electronic parts to fail arrives Thursday – yeah!

Click here for more GE French Door Refrigerator Reviews

Click here for more on GE Profile Refrigerators

Click here for more on Maytag Refrigerators

Comments for Buyer Beware!!: GE Profile French Door/Bottom Freezer Refrigerator Review (model PFS22SISBSS)

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 04, 2016
Another victim NEW
by: C Packard

Nice looking piece of crap. Wishing I looked here before buying. Ice maker wouldn't work after several hundred dollars. Of course is wasn't warranty work. I had to break a bracket and now it works. We'll now here we to again I call for repair and they diagnose over the phone MOTHER board mother is right. And the noises are terrible. Worse than my English bull dog snoring. I have now found a use for this crap. Took it to my deer lease for target practice. GE if you ever read these shame on you. I'll never buy GE again. Time for some well made Japanese appliances. So much for US made.

Jul 09, 2016
Model PYE22PSHFSS NEW
by: Mary Ann

I have already commented here about this refrigerator. It went out on us 2 months after purchasing it Dec. 2014. Now a year and a few months later, the same thing. Just before it stopped cooling this time the thing was making the same horrendous noises. I guess it was in the throes of dying. I want to get rid of it but I am reluctant to sell it to anyone since it has issues. I don't want to knowingly pass on the problems to someone else, yet I can not afford to purchase another one. GE should be ashamed. With all of the comments here, I wonder if there are grounds for a class action lawsuit? We have spent thousands of dollars on crap and the company is just nonchalant about it.

Jul 06, 2016
Ditto and ditto NEW
by: maud

Read through all the comments and same list of problems experienced over the years since we bought this model in 2008. Erratic temp swings in both freezer and refrigerator sections. Four times within last six months came home to find ice cream melted and running all over. Door seals replaced early on etc etc etc. just like everyone else. Out shopping now because I give up but not for another GE. Mother board is always blamed but repair company checked one they took out and could find nothing wrong. Condenser replacement too expensive but they are not convinced it is condenser anyway. Oh yeah. I forgot those transistor ? Things were also replaced to no avail. Bought GE in first place because I thought they were USA made. Too bad.

May 24, 2016
Freezer overheat NEW
by: Vicki

I was interested in the comment just made that when the ice maker is on the freezer overheats. I commented previously about all of the problems. No one could figure out why the freezer overheated in summer. We just moved and the ice maker wasn't hooked up. For the first time ever the freezer didn't overheat. We have yet to have the strong summer heat but we are fairly certain the ice maker affects the freezer. Just wanted to add this and support the other individuals comment for those still having trouble with the freezer temp swings. Good luck with this piece of junk

May 24, 2016
Terrible NEW
by: Mochanet

Got this unit as part of a one stop shop kitchen renovation in 2006 . Good thing I have a service plan. I have had to made service calls ever since this thing was installed. First the motherboard went. Then the plastic latch on the door came off and they had to send me a whole new door. Then the seals came loose making it difficult for the doors to stay closed. After that another call for the mother board to be replaced. The ice maker malfunctioned. Mother board and another part burnt out last year 2015. It is now 5/2016 and whenever the ice maker is on the freezer and refrigerator temps increase. I have to keep using turbo cool to keep my food from spoiling. I now have another service call in. This is the worst and this unit was not cheap. I might have to purchase a new refrigerator unless I want to keep throwing away good food. Shame on you GE.

Apr 20, 2016
Ripoff!!!!! NEW
by: Anonymous

We bought this fridge in 2007. 9 out of 10 things on this list happened to us!

Dec 30, 2015
Lemon
by: Anonymous

Amen what a headache this frig has been from day one doors don't work right, ice maker spills everywhere
GE wants to replace doors again but back ordered and they don't know when they will get them. I have extended warranty thank god because we are now going on one month waiting for repairs. Amount they have put into this frig I could of bought 2 and still had money left over. We have called every six months for some type of repairs in 2008 Like I said thank goodness we have the extended warranty now I want them to cash
US out so we can get another frig but definitely not ge product.

Dec 04, 2015
GE French Door bottom freezer
by: Alan Burgess

Bought the GE and day 2 the refrigerator stopped working they come out and replaced the motherboard and its been 2 hours and still not cold I'm going to call them tomorrow and get them back out here. I wished i knew bout this before i bought it. What's the best refrigerator to buy. I'm so disappointed its only been a week today since i bought it and wished i never did.

Dec 03, 2015
We have all the same issues
by: Anonymous

Including the broken door latches (now the doors never close tightly), and the maddening ice maker design (yes, ice falls everywhere).

Worse yet, these problems hit you every single day. What a drag.

GE let us down.

Oct 01, 2015
Definitely a lemon Part 2.
by: Anonymous

One more problem I neglected to mention. The latch on one of the doors broke again 4 years after being replaced.

Oct 01, 2015
Definitely a lemon!
by: Anonymous

We bought our PFS22WISBSS in October 2005. We also bought the 5 year extended warranty through Sears.
Less than 3 months from delivery, the refrigerator was replaced due to numerous issues.
The replacement frog's condenser/evaporator and condenser fan were replaced twice (at 23 months and again 15 months later!)
The sub board was replaced at 23 months).
The door latch broke and both door gaskets were replaced in 4 years.
The filter cover was replaced in 4 years.
At 8 and 1/2 years, the freezer temperature demonstrated extreme swings within a 24 to 32 hour period. The temperature control would not adjust the freezer. After several months, the freezer temperature fluctuations were within reason. At 9 1/2 years, the freezer temperature experienced extreme temperature swings within cycles of 24 hours to 36 hours. Several weeks later, the refrigerator temperatures were erratic and fluctuating between 34 and 55 degrees. The refrigerator was disconnected 9 years and 8 months. I ordered a new refrigerator (not a GE) and can't wait to get this lemon out of my site!

Sep 05, 2015
Add me to the list!
by: Anonymous

We bought our GE French door frig in 2007. At just over one year - so right after warranty had expired - the main panel went out. It was over a holiday weekend when it was very hot out so we also lost a frig full of stuff. $450 later it was fixed. Next the icemaker went out...that was going to cost another $300. Went without the ice for years until I saw a Chinese knockoff part on Amazon for $45. I replaced the icemaker and it has worked better and longer than the original. Was surprised at how easy it was to fix - I have no appliance experience. The other issue we had was the stainless steel started to rust within a year or two. We live in So Cal, very dry here so it was not a climate issue. I contacted GE and their solution was to buy new doors at a cost exceeding the price of the frig. We have lived with the ugly finish for the whole time we have had it. Now the water valve has stopped working. In addition the interior drawers can not handle normal weight as they come off the tracks easily. The interior plastic trays and plastic parts are of poor quality as many of ours have cracked with light use. GE has always been very unresponsive when contacted. Long story short - will not be buying any GE products again!

Sep 01, 2015
peice of junk
by: Rod

This is the most expensive fridge i have ever bought and i think it should not have as many issues as it has. 2 weeks after i bought it the motheboard fried. Came home after being gone on the weekend and noticed no lights on panel and all the the food was ruined. They came out and fixed it. Then after warranty expired the 2nd board went out and it stopped producing ice. I was told the board was defective i needed to change it. $300 dollars later ice maker still dont work. They said i need a new ice maker. I gave up on ice. Went and bought a countertop portable ice maker. I will never buy a @$#! Ge product again.

Aug 26, 2015
Terrible Product Quality
by: Debbie in Louisiana

I have had this unit for 5 years and had nothing but issues since year one. I figure I have invested 3000 -3500 dollars in this unit. The latest is the ice maker broke last week. I feel like they should send me a new one at no cost and pay to have it installed. I have had all the issues listed below by the other owners. How can we get help with this from GE...anyone?


Frustrated

Aug 10, 2015
GE No More!
by: Anonymous

I reluctantly bought this refrigerator 7 yrs ago, it was one of the only (french door) one that fit in the space but never thought it was going to be this bad. I had to have it serviced twice in seven years! Today, they had to replace 'the brain' because it was not sending the signal, it wasn't cooling at all.

Aug 05, 2015
Same Issues
by: Anonymous

Part broke off door, Ice all over, plastic piece broke on Ice maker, digital display does not hold the setting and freezes food in crisper. The filter gets stuck to the point where it will not come out. Must close one door before other or it stays open. :-(. Pretty but disappointed in the quality.

Jul 29, 2015
Ge Refrigerator worst piece of junk I have ever had
by: Brenda

I too have had the exact same issues. Within a 6 month period I had the motherboard replaced twice. All of these issues have been with my fridge and I am not buying ge ever again. They have lost all of my business forever. I am down with a class action suit if we can get one. So deceptive with this junk.

Jun 27, 2015
GE Products
by: Ann Wise

I feel like I have been scammed by GE! I wonder if there are grounds for a class action lawsuit. I feel they are deliberately putting out junk and not really standing by their products.

Jun 25, 2015
GE products and customer service
by: Anonymous

We have the 2007 model, same issues listed here.

they've replaced just about every part possible still not working we've paid out of pocket for repairs with no success...their solution they'll give us a discount, 1/2 off a new GE refrigerator, so we can deal with this again next year....NO THANKS! GE IS JUNK!
Thankfully we have a 1980 maytag in the garage working great or we'd be living out of ice coolers.

Apr 11, 2015
GE pfs22sisbss
by: Anonymous

I have the convection,dishwasher and refrigator
All by GE threr product stincks refrigerator not working,microwave not working, dishwasher
Does a lousey job cleaning.NEVER BUY GE PRODUCTS AGAIN.























Apr 11, 2015
I have had every problem listed ! NOW BEEPING WON'T STOP.
by: Margie

Had the fridge since about 2009 - WILL NEVER EVER BUY GE AGAIN ! I have 5 GE appliances since a kitchen remod, and 3 have gone bad: Fridge, Dishwasher, Cooktop.
Issues with fridge: ice maker overflows,dumps ice in back of freezer and on too floor.
The crisper drawer ALWAYS OFF tracks.
Plastic latches on BOTH doors snapped. GE said "change the door". How about replace the latch ?
Motherboard went bad - won't turn on the compressor.
LATEST ISSUES: The electronic display started beeping, shutting off. Beeping won't stop when doors are closed.

Apr 08, 2015
pfs garbage
by: Anonymous

I've had nothing but headaches with this fridge. ice overflows on to floor in freezer. Door latches break and you can't get the part...must replace entire door. Control door was defective. Replaced under recall, but new one failed as well.

This product is such a PFS. I am done with GE.

Feb 12, 2015
Overpriced Piece of Junk
by: Anonymous

I purchased my refrigerator in November and was told I had the top of the line (paid $2,400 for it, I should have). After just a little over a year, it began leaking water in the bottom under the produce drawers. So much so, it was streaming down the front of the refrigerator. Then the icemaker went out, then a lot of the panel lights in front went out, it freezes up inside the refrigerator, the freezer section constantly has to be wiped down inside because of frost build up. It makes loud clicks and noises also. Then I learned GE quit making this model. Wonder why? But they sure will not replace or refund their customers for the lemons they bought.

Feb 09, 2015
Model PYE22PSHFSS
by: Mary Ann

I've had this crap refrigerator for only 2 months and it quit working!! I called GE to schedule a repairman and was told it will be 2 weeks before a technician can come out!! The customer service people were nice but acted as though this was no big deal. I despised all of the noises it made prior to finally crapping out but at least I knew it was working. It is eerily silent now. I will never buy another GE product, nor will I ever recommend them to anyone. As a matter of fact, I will go out of my way to make sure people don't buy this junk even if have to stand around at an appliance sales store and let them know "buyer beware" then that is what I will do. This is the lousiest purchase of my life, I bought an entire suite, spent over $6,500 for worthless junk that only looks pretty. Now I understand the side eye I got whenever I mentioned I had bought GE appliances.

Feb 02, 2015
Same Issues
by: Anonymous

I can relate to the problems people are having with their GE Profile refrigerator (model PFS22SISBSS). I've experienced the same issues with mine. A bad motherboard needed replaced after just 4 months. The door latch broke after 2 years, and the compressor quit after 8. Please take these reviews to heart. A terrible product. That's it for GE refrigerators for me.

Jan 25, 2015
Pretty much the same as everyone else
by: Anonymous

I'm not real impressed.
Overall I've gotten my years out of it, but it's had a bunch of small issues throughout
Thankfully I don't have the ice problem this fellah noted, but the little door latches both gave up the ghost, or rather the hooks were OK, but the plastic that held them broke, necessitating taking the whole door apart if I'm lucky enough to find the parts which are apparently made of unobtanium as best I can find so far.
The crisper sliders have always been a bit balky, and tend to crack. The other plastic rack pieces I handle with care since they seem to be the same stuff. I suspect better is available for the money.

Dec 07, 2014
Poor Quality... Never again....
by: Anonymous

Our fridge has experienced the SAME problems as above. One day Sears called and asked if we wanted our appliances on a home warranty. I tried it and we have been very pleased as THEY have covered the cost of some very expensive repairs!

The unit is built with such poor attention to quality and design I am constantly amazed!

GE does NOTHING to stand behind their products!

We thought we were "saving" some money by choosing a GE product rather than the more expensive lines. NEVER doing that again!!

Good luck all!
Rob

Nov 27, 2014
There should be a lemon law.
by: Anonymous

I have had the same exact experiences as the other posters. My refrigerator failed the day before Thanksgiving. This is the second mother board I am replacing. This is a lemon. Is there such a thing as a lemon law for refrigerators?

Nov 11, 2014
100% Agree with this!!!!!!!!!!!!!
by: Anonymous

We also bought this model in 2006 and have had every single problem you mentioned including our ice/water hose leaking causing damage to our wall and floor. We have shut down the water/ice feature because of this and today I was doing research to try and figure out why the motor keeps coming on and running for long periods of time. So ready to kick this one to the curb.

Nov 05, 2014
Wish I Had Seen This Earlier
by: Anonymous

My GE Profile had the exact same problems! I thought it just bad karma. In addition, the hose to the ice/water dispenser began leaking so we shut it down.

Oct 19, 2014
Spot on
by: Anonymous

We had exactly all of the same problems. Retailer said we must have bought a lemon since problems were rare, but now it appears a good GE PRODUCT IS WHAT IS ACTUALLY RARE!

Oct 18, 2014
Please Listen !!!!!!!
by: Anonymous

My 6 yr old GE Profile French Door/ Freezer refrigerator has never worked well from day one.
Every time you open up the freeze drawer, ice falls all over the floor. (Got tried of taking days off from work to wait for a repairman come to not fix the problem).
Plastic compartments are cracked, they had to be replaced.
Inverter had to be replaced, at my expense. $400.00
Main Circuit board had to be replaced, at my expensive. $150.00
Here's the kicker ..........
Fefrigerator still doesn't work and GE's recommendation .... you should have purchased the extended warranty.

Oct 13, 2014
GE PFS22SISBSS - Ditto!
by: Anonymous

My 7 year old GE French door fridge PFS22SISBSS has never worked properly but we dealt with broken plastics and fridge door gasket that ripped within the first months. Most recently just stopped cooling or cooling inconsistently. Found a company called fixmyboard.com who fixed the main board which is usually the problem, and they also sent me the GE Service Manual that includes how to run the computer diagnostics on further issues with the appliance. Most recent issue is the thermistors not working so I'll be trying that once last repair before giving up. We bought all GE profile appliances and never again. Stove is a mess - bottom drawer broke and we never even used it. Microwave had a major part failure and after replacing the part, gave up when it failed again. Go Kenmore! Our Kenmore fridge is still running after 25+ years. Never GE AGAIN.

Aug 02, 2014
GE PFS
by: Anonymous

I am a maintenance tech for a very high end resort. I have seen all makes and models and not suprised to read all the reviews about this model. We had changed out so many of these ref's because of a lot faulty wiring, cpu/brain, compresors faulty etc...It was not worth replacing parts. But this goes for all other brands as well that are very high tech. Stick to the most simple ref w/ less electronics. It will work just as good if not better, very efficient, cheap maintenance cost.


Jul 25, 2014
GE let me down
by: Anonymous

I guess "PFS" the model number says everything with this unit. Certainly my experience. And my experience with GE consumer goods period (not that they don't make other things that are good enough--or close).

Jul 16, 2014
so disappointed with GE Profile
by: Anonymous

Bought all GE Profile appliances in 2008 for kitchen remodel and have nothing good to say about them. French door refrigerator kept losing temp in hot, humid weather. After 3 repair men came, they did replace it with a new model that had a different door design. But it still does not hold temp in New England summer. Now the seal on the freezer door has come apart and there is frost build up. The door handle has fallen off twice, I could go on. We got a stainless steel interior for the dishwasher, only to find that the screws rusted out. When I called to ask for stainless steel screw replacements, they said I needed a new dishwasher door. We live with the rust. My gas stove and the microwave have been fine. But I will NOT buy another GE appliance again.

Jun 15, 2014
How do I fix this
by: Anonymous

GE Profile Bottom Freezer motherboard is making loud clunking noises...like a windshield wiper noise only loud that won't turn off..it's coming from the motherboard in the back...I can see it vibrating...how do I fix this? I'm afraid to call a GE repairman as I got this fridge as they couldn't repair my last one and gave it as a replacement....all my food is spoiling...it's sunday, its summer, not again...it was brand new 8 years ago..my old kitchen maid fridge in a condo i rent still works and it was new in 1991...
this motherboard is making the noise..how do I find a replacement for it

Feb 17, 2014
Hershey PA side by side GE Profile same issues
by: CKerr

GE Profile counter depth - PSCS5TGXAFSS Refrigerator/freezer temps started rising. Called store and their repair person (honest guy). Cleaned back and said call me may need a thermostat if continued problems. Called next day as temp kept rising. He brought thermostat. Store said 1 year warranty but I checked manual and it said 5. Repairman said call GE now before I install. Yes it is 5 years. Bought in 2011. GE came next day & after extensive testing ordered new compressor. We put food in bags on our screened porch in this snowstorm. Will be week to get compressor. Took drawers out and decided to clean since not cold enough to use. Found all drawers have cracked through one corner with small pieces breaking off. Now what to do? When we bought it the freezer shelves constantly fell through and GE sent new ones with adapter promptly. From what I see they aren't going to replace these. Duct tape perhaps! Elderly folks still going to our porch and trunk for food. Could be worse in many ways or summer I guess.
We have decided that we will continue this merry go round as long as it is under warranty for main parts...otherwise new non electronic Maytag or other well reviewed refrigerator with an extended warranty - just in case.

Jan 12, 2014
Same problems
by: Anonymous

won't cool or freeze…have replaced display board 2x's and is not working again…relay switch and capacitor replaced…motherboard replaced…condenser fan no working and I think condenser is shot now too. piece of JUNK!!! pfs22sisbss

Dec 21, 2013
Prepare to sink money into it.
by: Brodie

**YOU WILL**:
1.Break (eventually not replace) both plastic door latches.
2. Fry multiple motherboards.
3. Have to replace the Start Device and Run Capacitor.

Be prepared. #2 and #3 are EASY DIY projects. Order the parts online but NOT FROM GE and replace them. All three take 10 minutes combined with very little know-how and a philips screw driver.
http://www.applianceblog.com/parts/ <<<-- cheap and guaranteed. No that's not a plug for the parts company. I went local due to time but I know this place has a GREAT track record.

Dec 19, 2013
Overpaid
by: Brodie

You got hosed on your circuit board - I had the same issue with a 2 month out of recall serial number. I paid $125 and installed it. Not saying the fridge doesn't suck, it does, just shop around for parts...
GE's customer service also sucks! I will never buy another GE appliance. It's scary too, they make JET ENGINES that move us around the country....

Sep 12, 2013
Broke the first month I had It.
by: Anonymous

This refrigerator is a piece of trash. Since I've had it, the main board went out, the ice maker leaked and water froze at the bottom making the freezer door hard to open. Now the repairman says the Defrost Board is out because the refrigerator keep cool at the bottom but not the top. Have to replace the main board ($554)because everything on it apparently. I didn't repair the ice maker just unplugged the water line. I can buy ice. After this, I will be buying a new refrigerator, and IT WON'T BE A GE.

Sep 08, 2013
Broken latch on GE French door
by: Anonymous

Need to find a home made solution to keep door closed.

Jul 15, 2013
Recall
by: Domingo

This model should be recall by GE
I had so many things go wrong with this unit.
my refrigerator is model PFS22SISBSS

Jul 04, 2013
Piece of junk
by: Vicki

The review is absolutely accurate. Anyone not having problems with this would be a GE employee IMHO. It would be impossible for so many common Problems and have any exceptions. We had two mother boards within the first two years. We bought the unit in 2006. As soon as summer arrives the freezer has huge temp shifts. Our appliance store is trying to figure out what is causing it. I'm ready to junk it rather than pour more money into it. And the ice always overflows and then falls on to the floor as stated above. DON'T even consider buying this unit

Apr 29, 2013
Profile PFS22SISBSS
by: fmerkel

3 out of 4 door latches broke. One bottom one I fixed a crappy piece of plastic with a bit of bamboo skewer. In 3 minutes in the shop I improved on the design and implementation.

The upper latch is a bugger. The latch doesn't break, the door ANCHOR for the latch breaks which is PART OF THE DOOR. Really insubstantial plastic, bound to break. I'm not an engineer but I could tell that at a glance once I saw the problem. It is simply stupidly expensive ($270 per side + installation) for something than never should have broken in the first place.

Yeah, we have the lousy crisper slides that break too. More lousy plastic and bad design.

The actual fridge works fine and looks good...for now.

Apr 21, 2013
GE Frige GSS25KGTA, plastic parts keeps failing.
by: Anonymous

I have a Refrigerator Model GSS25KGTA bought in 2006. The bottom pan failed first time in 2011. Replaced in 2011, broke again in 2012, replaced again (free of charge), it is broken again. In 2012, I had two pan cover broke. Replaced them and now both replacement broke again. They are less than one year old. Now the middle A pan broke also. I think they must have a bad batch of plastic parts. Does anyone else have the same problem?

Feb 11, 2013
GE Crisper Drawers break often
by: Anonymous

The plastic crisper drawers on some GE refrigerators break in the course of normal use. A new drawer will cost you $99, and it isn't even your own fault!! I have replaced mine twice, and the drawers keep breaking!! Cheep plastic, poor design I'd say. The standard answer from GE is "don't pack them so full" or "use vasolene on the drawer sliders. GE MUST know about this, because their repair men see it ALL THE TIME !!! The engineers should issue a RECALL notice, and send everyone a nice new set of drawers made from a more forgiving or stronger plastic.

Jan 13, 2013
Great Refrigerator
by: Anonymous

These comments are interesting. I have nothing to say but great things about my refrigerator, its been great. As far as a notification about your filter going off all the time, perhaps you just need to replace it?

May 24, 2012
Piece of Crap
by: Anonymous

I waited for years to buy the "perfect" refrigerator. I purchased this about 3 years ago and I have had nothing but problems. It does not maintain a constant temp and the shelves and drawers have all cracked. Some of the plastic acutally "disolved" I dont know how else to explain it. The large bracket that holds the glass shelf just fell apart.

I would never buy anything else GE EVER!!!

May 24, 2012
Piece of Crap
by: Anonymous

I waited for years to buy the "perfect" refrigerator. I purchased this about 3 years ago and I have had nothing but problems. It does not maintain a constant temp and the shelves and drawers have all cracked. Some of the plastic acutally "disolved" I dont know how else to explain it. The large bracket that holds the glass shelf just fell apart.

I would never buy anything else GE EVER!!!

May 09, 2012
Biggest Piece of Garbage I ever owned!!
by: Carol Kamm

We made the mistake of buying the matching GE Profile gas stove! The coating on the dials melt-about $35.00 a pop to replace, and the oven door glass cracked. As for the refrigerator, we have had all the same problems as the rest of you. Our only salvation is that we purchased an extended warranty plan that we renew each year at an appreciating cost. So I figure, when all is said and done, we will have paid 2x for each appliance. Word of warning-If you smell something burning in your house- it's most likely your refrigerators circuit board! GOOD JOB GE!!!!!

Mar 01, 2012
Junk, Junk, Junk!! GE Appliances are nothing but JUNK!!!
by: Anonymous

I had the repair man come out 2 times in last 3 years for the exact same problem:

  • Freezing water on the bottom freezer floor
  • Left french door plastic hinge broke (now I have to manually close inside of french door)
  • Crisper tray guides both broke

This refrig. is only 3 years old and cost about $2000.00.

Unbelievable!!!

I wish i never bought any of the GE profile products for my kitchen.

Feb 04, 2012
GE Profile Refrigerator - Very Expensive Junk
by: Anonymous

No sense repeating what was already said. The only thing good about model #PFS22SISBSS is that it looks good.

I always thought that extended warranties were never needed for good products. However, in today's world it is best to pay extra for the warranties because you will definitely have to call the repair service very frequently!!

Oct 03, 2011
GE Fridge = JUNK
by: FridgeReviewer

I ran across this thread while searching for parts for my PFS22SISBSS broken GE fridge.

We now need two plastic latches to keep the doors closed - since now they have both broken off and the doors now don't close right. It is true they (and the torsion bars they attach to) can't be replaced as a unit. It will take between $400 and $500 to fix this piece of junk.

Also had the display problem mentioned by another buyer, but many years ago now. A few hundred dollars fixed that one with my labor and electronics know-how to do the install.

I too am cursed with a unit that can't keep temperature on warm or humid days, resulting in melty ice cream. It has done this since day 1.

Are you kidding me?!?! It is a fridge. It is supposed to keep food cold.

GE Profile Appliances = JUNK!

Click here for more on GE Profile Refrigerators


Aug 07, 2011
JUNK JUNK JUNK!!!
by: Becky

My GE Profile French door refrigerator is junk, junk, junk!!

  1. The drawers break
  2. Crispers can't handle any weight, both of ours are sitting on the bottom of the frig
  3. Latches on the door busted
  4. Mother Board has quit working and had to be replaced twice!!


I will never ever buy a GE Profile appliance ever again!! Buyers beware!!!

JUNK! JUNK! JUNK! PILE OF EXPENSIVE JUNK!!

Jun 10, 2011
GE Profile is JUNK!!
by: Anonymous

I agree completely! This is one expensive piece of junk!

Almost every piece of plastic has cracked and/or completely broken. Drawers, shelves...you name it!

The freezer only stays near 0 in the winter time. In the summer it runs very warm between 9 and 18 degrees. Just warm enough to melt ice cream when you want it.

I will never buy GE again. By the way, the replacement parts for the interior are extremely expensive.

I had a power failure yesterday and the freezer never got cold again. I'm shopping tonight for a new fridge and even though my GE Profile refrigerator is only 4 years old I am happy to get it out of my house.

Click here for more on GE Refrigerators

Click here for more Refrigerator Reviews

Click here to add your own comments

Return to GE French Door Refrigerator Reviews.